Monday, March 26, 2012

My Vegan Adventure is coming to an end.

I just thought I would end one of my last posts with giving you guys a list of what you can not eat as a vegan. I know it looks really overwhelming, but you get used to the process of replacing and finding other foods.
When veganism mentions  animal products, what do they exactly mean? What are those products that they consider not worth consuming as food? Here are some of those animal products:
  • Meat
  • Seafood
  • Poultry and its eggs
  • Dairy products like milk
  • Honey
  • Fur, leather, silk, wool
  • Beeswax – wax produced by bees in their bee hives
  • bone china – a translucent body part of porcelains derived from animal bone
  • bone char – a material that came from charred animal bones
  • casein – proteins found in cow’s milk and human milk
  • carmine, cochineal – a pigment of red color produced from some scale insects
  • gelatin – a tasteless and colorless substance produced by the collagen inside the skin and bone of animals
  • isinglass – from bladders of fish
  • lard – pig fat
  • lanolin – a yellow wax secreted by glands and wool-bearing animals such as sheep
  • rennet – usually used in making cheeses, which came from mammalian stomach that digests the milk
  • shellac – a resin secreted on trees by a female lac bug
  • whey – is milk plasma, which is the remains after the milk has been strained
  • tallow -  came from mutton or beef fats
  • yellow grease – a lower grade of tallow that came from sheep or cow fats

Please let me know if this helpful or not :)

No comments:

Post a Comment